Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Xbox360 psu's to power car amp

ryley_999

Mar 1, 2012
i have a few xbox 360 power supplies, they are good for about 16.5 amps on the 12 volt rail, right now im using only one psu to run a car amp i have in the living room.
am i able to run the supplies together and combine the 12 volt rails for more power for my amp,? should i put a diode at the end of each wire coming from the 12volt rails on both supplies , then combine the rails from each supply after the diode and then run the combined rails run the to the amp? or is it gonna be more complicated then that? im not a pro with electronics, but i have an alright knowledge, ive fix amplifier, simple thing like changing transformers, output transistor, caps, im mostly a comp nerd, lol

anyways thank you anyone who could help me out with this, i would really like to be able to use all these psu to run the one amp,

jackorocko

Apr 4, 2010
so what are you looking for 24V output or 12V output twice the amps?

When wiring in series you will need to cut one of the grounds or this will surely short one of the PSU's out.

ryley_999

Mar 1, 2012
so what are you looking for 24V output or 12V output twice the amps?

When wiring in series you will need to cut one of the grounds or this will surely short one of the PSU's out.

sorry, i'm trying to keep the same voltage but combine the amperage, so insted of having jsut the 16.5 amps from one, i would like to have 33 amp from two of them together,

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
sorry, i'm trying to keep the same voltage but combine the amperage, so insted of having jsut the 16.5 amps from one, i would like to have 33 amp from two of them together,

Yes, ok, you can parallel the 2 outputs to still give 12V but double the current
In theory this works really well, in practice, not always. Because the PSU's may not be exactly equal in their rating, you may find one of the 2 PSU's working harder than the other, rather than the load being shared equally.