Ongoing work on Raspberry Pi Pico simulator or Raspberry Pi Pico emulator in the making. You can contribute too.

Introduction

A series of live streams where Uri Shaked will be coding a Pi PICO simulator from scratch. Expect deep-dives into the datasheet, head-scratching and code-staring, a lot of frustration, and maybe a blinking LED at the end.

You'll get to see the process for building MCU simulation, drawn from previous experience working on AVR8js, an open-source AVR8 simulator written in JavaScript. Find the previous episodes in the project logs below.

Link to the next stream: https://youtu.be/8OyyWmVZUvE

We'll go live Tuesday, April 20, 2pm EST time (11am PST / 7pm GMT / 8pm CET)

Important links:

The RP2040 datasheet, where we'll find all the specific details about the MCU core and peripherals

ARM® v6-M Architecture Reference Manual. It'll be our main reference for implementing the emulator!

Pico Getting Started guide. Check out Chapter 2 for setting up the built environment. We'll use it extensively while working on the emulator.

Success! with Raspberry Pi Pico Emulator

This week we managed to get a Pi Pico program to run start to end in our emulator!

The happy moment happened just as the stream was about to conclude, about 2:29 hours into the stream. You can watch the full recording here:

Interested in updates?

The next episode will air on Tuesday. If you want the link right in your inbox, you can sign up for email updates


Puneeth pksn
Hardware enthusiast with ample interest in Arduino projects