Maker Pro
Maker Pro

12v fans, simple question

B

brain_police87

Jan 1, 1970
Hello everyone, first off, Im new to the forum. Ive been trolling the past few weeks on different threads and learned quite a bit. Im a hobbyist for the most part, I have quite a love for all things electronics. Ive been trying to search the forum (still getting adjusted to the layout) to find some basic info but still haven't answered my question.

I am trying to wire two 12v DC 40cfm fans on to a older FAT model PS3 with overheating issues. I have my 12v source but I am wondering that if I use two 12v fans, will I actually be pulling 24v? I understand this is a extremely "dumb" question, but as I get more and more into creating my own circuits I need this basic info. How do you calculate draw on power source?

I subscribe to several other forums on different subjects. I typically dont like to be "that guy" but I've searched google and other resources and cant seem to find the information I need. Perhaps I am not phrasing my question correctly? Any help would be great!

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi and welcome to Electronics Point :)

Voltage is measured between two points, like a distance. You could imagine that a 12V power supply "pulls" its outputs (they're normally called +12V and 0V) apart to a distance of 12 inches. The power supply includes regulation, so its outputs are always 12V apart, unless you overload it (draw too much current from it).

A 12V DC fan requires its wires to be "pulled apart" to about 12 inches to make it run, so if you connect it across the output of a 12V power supply, it will have 12V across it, and it will run.