Maker Pro
Maker Pro

3 Pin Relay Wiring?

bob_v

Feb 7, 2024
Believe this came out of a dishwasher. Searched all the identifiers but can't find a valid part #. Measured coil resistance and it's 75 ohms. W/o power 3rd pin isn't connected to anything. Tried connecting 120v across the coil and tripped circuit breaker. I'm a newbie and it's frustrating me that I can't understand this simple device. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thx in advance , Bob

Attachments

• 120v Relay.jpg
    120v Relay.jpg
    362.8 KB · Views: 5

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
I think you will find that is a induction motor start relay, goes in series with the start capacitor and drops out when the motor has started and the start winding current has dropped.
It only has a few heavy turns, so the current would be very high if connected across 120v !

bob_v

Feb 7, 2024
I think you will find that is a induction motor start relay, goes in series with the start capacitor and drops out when the motor has started and the start winding current has dropped.
It only has a few heavy turns, so the current would be very high if connected across 120v !
Thank you! I understand basically what you’re saying but not the specific details. Doesn’t sound like anything I’ll need and a bit advanced for my current knowledge. At least I don’t feel as stupid now. I’ll just throw it away before I get in any more trouble.

Minder

Apr 24, 2015
Thank you! I understand basically what you’re saying but not the specific details. Doesn’t sound like anything I’ll need and a bit advanced for my current knowledge. At least I don’t feel as stupid now. I’ll just throw it away before I get in any more trouble.
You never throw anything away, it may come in handy some day !! :p

bob_v

Feb 7, 2024