Maker Pro
Maker Pro

A whole whack of question (audio related)

luke skywalker

Jun 11, 2012
So I'm going to build my car a stereo from scratch. I have lots of experience building amplifiers and such, finding AV based on the load. My biggest void of knowledge at this point is the speakers, the way I look at it I'll have my aux stereo input w/ 3 pins, left right and ground. I'll have two amplifier circuits using BJT's or mosfets, at the output of the first amp I'll put the front left and back left in parallel and the output at the second amp I'll put the front right and back right in parallel.

First off, should there be a common ground? ie. Should the aux ground share the battery ground share the amplifier ground? Knowing from school I feel there should but I would like confirmation.

Second off, what makes a speaker make noise, I know this sounds like a broad question but basically I know that the diaphragm will resonate when an AC voltage is applied to it. But what determined the decibels? Current, Voltage or Power? I know the speaker will have a max power rating, does it have a max voltage rating? max current rating? should I fuse the output? is there a mathematical way to figure out the decibels those guys will create with the power dissipated in the speaker?

Also this isn't really electronically related but does anyone know where to get the speaker specs for my car? Its a Jeep Grand Cherokee 96'

Thanks, much appreciated :D

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Unless you have separate batteries for the amplifiers plus differential signalling (optical signal transmission) you will definitely have a common ground.
I doubt you have that (at least you don't describe anything along these lines). And if you can't guarantee separate grounds, it is better to use a defined common ground than to leave the grounding to chance.

Therefore the question is how to wire his common ground.