Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Delaying an 'on' signal

agour

Feb 5, 2013
Hey,

I'm trying to build a simple motorized camera dolly, based around this video:

If you don't want to watch the video. this is the basics. A timelapse remote for a DSLR is used as a switch in a DC motor circuit. When the remote says to take a picture, it closes the circuit and the motor moves.

I want to get it to trigger the camera too, however I need it to trigger after the motor stops turning. So say the remote closes the circuit, the motor moves for 1 second. Remote opens circuit and motor stops.

Then say after 1 second I would want to camera to take a photo. If I used another remote, it could end up running out of sync with the first, and take photos when the camera moves.

So, I want to build a simple circuit to delay the camera trigger. However I'm a complete electronics noob (more of a mechanical biased guy). I can solder things together, but I have no idea of what components etc I would need!

I found two circuits which *might* do the job, but I'm not too sure.
http://www.conrad-uk.com/ce/en/product/195901/Conrad-delayed-action-onoff-switch-kit
http://www.conrad-uk.com/ce/en/product/193631/Conrad-12-Vdc-delayed-action-timer-relay-module

It would be handy to be able to set the delay of the trigger, so it could be 0.5-10s after the motor starts.

Any help or guidance would be really appreciated!

Thanks,
Paul

Last edited:

shrtrnd

Jan 15, 2010
Look into TDR's (Time Delay Relay).
They're nice because the control circuitry is self-contained, which makes it a lot
easier to integrate into your system.

Miguel Lopez

Jan 25, 2012
Also monostable circuits could help, such 555, 4047. But you should design a circuit and build it. The TDR solution could be better.

agour

Feb 5, 2013
I've had a look at both of your suggestions, thanks for the ideas :)

Edit:

Had a read through the ebay description and looked online again. If my understanding is correct, it should do the job.