Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Input Hum - Yorkville Amplifier

gerryt

Feb 5, 2021
I have a Yorkville Power Wedge Kw100 amplifier with two input channels. As the volume in channel 1 is increased there is a hum that gets louder. It does not sound like a 60 cycle hum. The humming problem is the same whether or not an instrument is plugged into the 1/4" input or a microphone is plugged into the XLR input. Channel two works fine and is quiet. As best as I can tell from the schematic both channel 1 and 2 get routed into the same output section of the amp. I am thinking that the problem is somewhere within the input section of channel 1. Wondering if there is a likely component culprit that might be causing this? I have attached the schematic. I am self taught in electronics and appreciate any help offered.

Attachments

• Yorkville-100KW-Power-Wedge-Service-Manual.pdf
    558.3 KB · Views: 5

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi JerryT,
This is typical electrolytic capacitors in the power supply.
Furthermore, hum altering with volume. Again, input hum being amplified.
Should be a simple fix.

Martin

gerryt

Feb 5, 2021
Hi JerryT,
This is typical electrolytic capacitors in the power supply.
Furthermore, hum altering with volume. Again, input hum being amplified.
Should be a simple fix.

Martin
Thanks Martin, I would be curious to know why it only hums on one channel.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Thanks Martin, I would be curious to know why it only hums on one channel.
That's the channel with the dodgy component.
Try C6.
Look for usual signs of degradation.
Best to test with an appropriate meter.

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
Hum can also be a poor ground connection in line plug.

Also a poor soldering joint that has created a high Z parasitic pickup point.
Connector joist as well on PCB. Helps to have an inspection scope or a magnifying
glass to do the inspection.

Additionally ground shield on audio cables no longer low Z to ground. Can occur
due to flex.....