Maker Pro
Maker Pro

LED project

dphens

Nov 12, 2010
Hi!

I am new to electronics and could use some help determining what I need for my project. I apologize for the length of my very first post, but I want to provide plenty of detail. :D

My project is creating a number of acrylic panels that will be backlit with LED's. I expect to have at least 30 panels at this point. I have been experimenting with LED's for a couple months now and have reached a point where I need more power and assistance with this.

Up to now I've been using a 12v supply with 3.3v, 20ma white LED's and so I could have 3 in series without a resistor. What I need to now it to have more in series and then 30-35 parallel segments. My panels will vary in size, so some may only have 5 LED"s and other may have (need) 7. This tells me that I need a 24v supply, right?

I also realize I'll need different resistors for each segment depending on the number of LED's in that segment.

The other piece I want to add is being able to dim the LED's. I have a 12v PWM that I was using in my tests, so I assume I can do this with 24v, I just need a PWM rated for that.

Lastly, if possible I'd like to have the panels grouped but still running off one supply. In other words, 20 panels running through one dimmer and 10 running through another. Hope that makes sense.

Where I have problems is determining the other requirements I need to power my project. As I mentioned, I am new and just learning. I have some basics down, but I still struggle with the math portion of determining what I need in regards to the power supply. I'd be grateful is someone would be willing to help me out during this project while I learn more about this hobby.

Thanks!!! :)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
You MUST have a resistor in series with a LED driven from a voltage source.