Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Led Sequencer circuit help

djohnso

Apr 28, 2010
This is my first post. :DAdditionally I have little experience with building electronics.

Please forgive me if I’ve posted this to the wrong place.

I have designed a circuit that hopefully sequentially lights eight LEDs for a right or left turn signal. When the break is applied it lights both sides sequentially. The typical light sequence should be:
D1
D1, D2
D1, D2, D3
D1, D2, D3, D4
D1, D2, D3, D4, D5
D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, D6
D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, D6, D7
D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, D6, D7, D8
The circuit remains lit until the turn signal input goes low (this kills and resets the circuit).

The sequence from D1 to all 8 LEDS being lit will be quick (approx 1/2 time of flasher on).

Hopefully I have attached a schematic of my circuit below.

I need an electronics brain to calculate the total power draw, advise of any overloaded/stressed components and generally point out this novice in the right direction.

I want to use off the shelf stuff (no programmable ICs) to build this circuit. The reason for this is simple; I need to build this circuit, I would prefer not buy equipment and learn to program ICs.

Thanks,

David Johnson

djohnso

Apr 28, 2010
seq_drj4.gif

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Does something break when you apply the brake?

Firstly, how do you prevent the quite variable and noisy 12V in a car from disrupting your circuit?

Secondly, what is the purpose of all the 12v zener diodes? Did you design this yourself? They seem to be connected the wrong way around anyway (if they're being used as zeners). Do you understand what a Zener diode is?

Do you want the LEDs to get progressively dimmer as more come on? R1 and R2 will give you a maximum current of around 1mA for a single diode, or 0.12mA through each of the 8.

1mA is already so low that you'll barely see the LEDs at night, and certainly not during the day.