Maker Pro
Maker Pro

'Low Power VLSI' :Help me to choose best domain for M.tech project

gstekboy

Mar 15, 2014
I'm Studying M.tech VLSI , as a part of my course I selected 'Low Power VLSI' as my project domain.
My idea is to work on 'Low Power Multiplier' to minimize it's power , delay and increase the speed of multiplier.
I don't know whether the multiplier domain is saturated or not . Is there any good area other than multiplier in Low Power VLSI ?

Fish4Fun

So long, and Thanks for all the Fish!
Aug 27, 2013
gstekboy, Welcome to the forum! Guess no one else is going to bite, so....

VLSI ("Very Large Scale Integration") is a somewhat qualitative descriptor....in historical context it could mean anything from a 74xx Logic chip to Intel's bleeding edge multi-core processor family....Likewise, "low power", again is a qualitative descriptor that implies a comparison to similar existing devices....So, I have to ask, what do you mean by "I selected 'Low Power VLSI...'"? Are you "working on" substrate processes and attempting to reduce feature size to reduce power in a new VLSI family, or do you mean you want to select a commercially available low power VLSI device and attempt to reduce power consumption via implementation of firmware/hardware?

If the venue is the substrate level then you should have a well-formed plan or at the very least a theory in mind or provided to you...so, I will assume the project is to select an existing commercially available chip and attempt to optimize some function with respect to power consumption....With this in-mind, I would suggest you explore one of the FPGA development boards. FPGAs are frequently used to prototype processor cores and complex ASIC logic functions...they are available in a wide range of speed/size/power levels and are virtually infinitely configurable, though if you are unfamiliar with HDLs (Hardware Definition Languages) in general then you may be biting off a lot for an undergraduate course.