Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Need to find where i can get a ceramic cement resistor or equivalent please. The white 2W 3ohm 3K in photo

Texscowboy

Dec 20, 2023
Digikey, Mouser for a couple.
Thanks, I'm a newb at this so when i searched the places i don't get anything that remotely looks like the one at all. So not sure as to what would replace it as an equal. Thanks

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
With that 3K tacked on the end , but with no intermediate R inserted . . .its a puzzler.
If the unit tests as open with an ohmmeter connected to each leads.
Then try this . . .
Use a jumper clip or bared wire to connect both end resistor leads together and that will be 1 connection to an ohmmeter lead and then you get a single edge razor blade which is quite beefy and its aliminuminini- yum- yum band across the top side, which you press and hold the other ohmmeter lead FIRMLY against . . . . to make connection. The ohmmeter is initially in the continuity "BEEP" position. Go to dead center of the back side that has a hard plaster of Paris type of filler.
Initially touch blade to either end wire and expect a BEEP.
Then, start digging in with a rotary drilling action with a corner of that blade.
You are expecting, after going down a bit, to touch contact with a good portion of that coiled resistance wire . . . . and a BEEP upon making contact with it.
Then switch to ohms range and test again when repeated contact is made with the exposed connection in that cavity. Then see what the resistance reading is and double its value of resistance .
If not finding contact, shift to digging holes at 1/4 from ends positions and computing as 4X the readings.

I'm wanting / highly expecting to see that be a 3 ohm value.

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
Madisound 3.0 Ohm, 5 Watt Wirewound Resistor
5 watt cement resistor
1703071997973.png
Tolerance: 5%
Tinned copper leads: 29mm + 3mm long
Dimensions: 10mm H x 10mm W x 22mm L
Flame proof ceramic case with flame proof cement
Ceramic core
Press fitted end cap