Maker Pro
Maker Pro

New project need assistance

NorthWheels

Feb 4, 2024
Hi everyone,

I am new to the CNC world. I am building a screw driver application that is required for a part of wheel assembly we are doing. I am not sure where I can find this help.

I have a steeping motor mounted with a handle and a custom made chuck. This chuck need to turn a certain amount at a desired speed stop and then repeat. This will be controlled by pedal activation. The program I loaded is Drufelcnc. The communication works but it requires G Code to fuction. I have done some reading on Gcode but not sure how to mange this in the software or write it for this purpose

The process ( Chuck interface must start and stop at an exact location ) and reapeat with the pedal activation.

Stepping motor: Nema 17 1.2A 17CA02A-120
Driver: DM556
Motion controler: Breakoutboard Mach 3
Pedal: Foot pedal
Software: Drufelcnc

Attachments

• 20240204_101500.jpg
    20240204_101500.jpg
    184.9 KB · Views: 3
  • 20240204_101507.jpg
    20240204_101507.jpg
    236.8 KB · Views: 2
  • 20240204_102228.jpg
    20240204_102228.jpg
    137.6 KB · Views: 2

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You can't (shouldn't) do it with just the stepper motor as there is always the possibility of missed steps or something else interrupting the movement. You should use some form of switches to detect the start and end stop positions - slotted opto's maybe - and count the total revolutions.

Better yet fit a slotted disk to the motor output shaft and detect on a per/whatever angle you need for accuracy.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
You can't (shouldn't) do it with just the stepper motor
Most cnc if not all, operate quite well without having the need for limit switches on each and every movement, just relying on the instructed number of steps from a "home" position.
If the stepper motor and it relative controls are designed and setup well with sufficient power and drivers to suit there should be no need for extra limits.