Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Opening a hobby electronics store: help needed

dashy1981

Jun 19, 2013
Hi All,

I have been pondering over opening a hobby electronics store for a very very long time(around 4 yrs...). I need help from experts here regarding feasibility, basic components to be stocked and whom do i contact to get suppliers.

I am a SW engineer by profession and have worked on device drivers for real time systems and linux. I am a hobbyist at heart, and have always have pursued electronics in my spare time.... and electronics projects are my only hobby. I come from India, and a bit of dilemma is there as my current job is paying me well(rather at the higher end compared to market salaries) :confused: . So I do not want to leave the job right away and am planning to setup this shop in parallel with my current job.... possible ???? maybe online to start with ???

I love teaching. I am even planning to organize workshops for electronics projects.... will that be a good idea?

What are your thoughts and inputs on my situation ?

last but not the least, as I mentioned earlier.... where do i get components and from whom so that I can sell them at marginal profit. I tried searching through the web but could not get much help on the ecosystem of a hobby electronics store.

Pls help !!!:)

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
For starters.

Some items I would consider, But there are many many more. There are lots of component suppliers like. RS components, Farnell, CPC, Mouser, Digikey.
Resistors: metal film and carbon of the common values E24 and E96 series in 1/4W, 1W, 2W, 5W etc.
Wire wound resistors
Resistor POTs of different power ratings
Capacitors: Ceramic, Electrolytic, Tantalum in various values and voltage ratings. Too many to list
Diodes: silicon and Shockley various power ratings
Mains Transformers for small projects.
Small sounders, buzzers and piezo discs
NPN and PNP transistors, small signal, Darlington’s and some higher current versions.