Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Push button controlled LED decade counter ...

The Old Sage

Apr 14, 2018
Hi. I'm a hobbyist who should be considered a "noob" with limited understanding of small electronics circuitry projects. I'd like to make (or have made for me) a decade counter (4017 based, I think), with the lighting of each LED in the sequence of 10 manually controlled by push button, rather than the internal clock of the 4017 chip.

It would also be nice if a second line of 5 LEDs could be added to move from one LED to the next as each decade in the first sequence is completed and returns to LED No. 1. Can anyone out there offer any help/instructions on how that might be done? Many thanks!

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
A CD4017 does not have an internal clock oscillator. A pushbutton, a resistor and a capacitor can cause it to sequence with each push if the pushbutton is debounced. Output #1 on the first CD4017 can be the clock for the second CD4017.

The Old Sage

Apr 14, 2018
A CD4017 does not have an internal clock oscillator. A pushbutton, a resistor and a capacitor can cause it to sequence with each push if the pushbutton is debounced. Output #1 on the first CD4017 can be the clock for the second CD4017.

Thank you very much. So: 1) do I correctly understand that the "clk" pin on the 4017 is merely an input for whatever device/means is used to regulate speed of the LED sequence; 2) I'm afraid I don't know how one goes about "debouncing" inputs; and 3) LED Out No. 1 on the first 4017 would be linked to "clk" on a second 4017 with only 5 LEDs/outs? If you could direct me to some kind of illustration or schematic, that'd be wonderful ...

The Old Sage

Apr 14, 2018
http://www.talkingelectronics.com/te_interactive_index.html

Time for you to do some reading.
Plenty in above link.