Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Successful monitor repair

bigone5500

Apr 9, 2014
I got a 19" HANNS-G HW191D monitor from the recycle bin at work and upon testing it out, I realized that the backlight did not work. I could hold a flashlight to the screen and see what was being displayed. I took the monitor apart and inspected the CCFL driver board. It had 8 swelled caps and nothing else looked strange. This monitor was probably used in a hot area as I work in a factory that produces glass. I had all necessary caps to replace which I salvaged from other gadgets. All soldered up and back together, I powered it up and TADA! it now works. I have been using it for a whole day and no issues so far. If it goes out again, I will just ditch it as I don't have anything invested but about an hour work.

Last edited:

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Good one. Always nice to hear a success story :).

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Well done Bigone5500, it's so obvoius that manufacturers need to find another way to keep caps away from heat. Or better still, a way to stop them being the number 1 failure prone component!
It will probably outlast new monitors bought today!!:) If low ESR and high temp caps were used..

Martin

bigone5500

Apr 9, 2014
I failed to note the specs on the caps I used but the ones I replaced are a brand called 'Elite'. All of them were 105C rated.

Edited original post: it was a CCFL board.

What's funny is, I searched for this monitor to get an idea of its worth. All I could come up with was a Google shopping page for replacement caps and a new board...and for some reason...wait for it...a pair of orange halloween panties...WHAT?????!!!!!!!!!!

https://www.google.com/search?q=HAN...d=chrome&es_sm=122&ie=UTF-8#tbm=shop&q=HW191D

Last edited:

bigone5500

Apr 9, 2014
So far, so good. Been using it every day and no issues.