Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Uni Project Help!

piggywig23

Oct 17, 2012
Hi there

I'm after some help with a project I'm working on at university. I'm designing heated handlebars. I'm using two wirewound 50w 10R resistors in each end of the handlebar to act as the heat source. I've found that around 15v/2amps is enough to generate a sufficient amount of heat in these resistors.

My next step is to work out how to connect these two resistors to an 11.1v lipo battery so the handlebars can be powered on the go, as opposed to using a power pack which I'm using currently. Unfortunately electronics is not my strong point so I'd be very grateful for some guidence.

I'd like to know what circuitry I'd need to build to safely supply power from my lipo to the resistors, and how I'd control the current so I can control how much heat the resistors give out.

Thanks for any help!

deanenp

Jan 23, 2013
Hi

Im not an electrical engineer, nor do I know much about electronics, but, if you're using a Lipo battery, I know that you will have to have some sort of low voltage protection in place. Lipos are extremely dangerous (the pack will puff up and in some cases explode or burst into flames) when over discharged.

I used 11.1V 3S packs for my electric helicopters and I normally only drain them down to 30% capacity.

Deanen

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
There are two approaches I can see here.

The first is the approach used in simple heating appliances like bar heaters and electric blankets. Each heating element actually contains two (or sometimes more) resistive elements, and they are connected to the power source in different ways depending on which temperature setting is selected. This connection can be done with multi-position, multi-pole switches. For example:

Assume each handlebar heater contains two 11.1 ohm elements.
For LOW setting, connect the elements in series across the battery. P = 5.55W.