Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Using a DC voltage to drive a relay to interrupt a power supply

ash1204

May 29, 2024
Picture1.png
Hi,

I am very new to Electronics, and was just hoping someone could help me with this:
I have a 24 V power supply. I wish to connect a relay to the connections that will interrupt the power supply when an external DC voltage (of 24 V as well) is supplied.
Can this sort of connection be made, and what sort of relay would I need?
Many thanks,
Ash

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
You need a DPDT (Double Pole Double Throw) relay with a 24 Vdc coil. The relay contacts must be rated for more than 24 V, and the current rating for the contacts should be at least twice the power supply output current that is being interrupted.

Connect the power supply output to the relay armature connections, and the downstream circuit/device) that previously was connected to the supply) to the relay NO (Normally Open) contacts. Be sure to observe the supply polarities, so the + output of the supply is connected to the same contact pair as the + input of whatever is downstream.

Also, the relay should have a rectifier diode across its coil connections to reduce generated interference and help preserve the switch contacts.

Traveling today, so no schematic. Someone else probably will create one.

ak

ash1204

May 29, 2024
Many thanks for this. I will study it, give it a try, and come back here with an update :)

ash1204

May 29, 2024
Thank you everyone for the feedback.
Yes, I am using two 24 V dc power supplies.

Allow me to show you what I mean, and give you more context:
Picture 2.png
The video below shows something similar to what I wish to do:

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020