Maker Pro
Maker Pro

30W LED amplifier from 12V

MadCatzx

Feb 11, 2018
Hello everyone,

First of all I'm totally new to electronics. Actually I'm a programmer, but wanted to work out some LED home lightning system.

My LED Home lightning system will be driven by arduino. I allready figured out how to power 12v RGBW LED strips.
But now i want to incorporated 30W RGB LED chips with heat sinks (that I will make into celing lamps), that are driven by 22-24V 350mAh. I want to have RGB LED amplifier/extender, to be able to achieve modularity. So each 30W RGB LED would get input from common anode RGB LED controller (arduino or any other on market RGBW controller) or RGB LED strip.

So question would be: Can anyone help me with schematics and transistor or mossfet choices for creating such amplifier?
I'm attaching simple ilustration.

Attachments

• led-problem.png
    led-problem.png
    3 KB · Views: 85
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
22-24V 350mAh

You probably mean 350mA. mAh is a measure typically used as a measure of capacity of batteries.

I want to have RGB LED amplifier/extender, to be able to achieve modularity.

I assume what you want is a LED driver that you can control via PWM from your Arduino.

What voltage source do you have available? Do you have a (say) 28V power supply?

Do you want to use a common power supply, or one for each light fitting?

How many LEDs in each light fitting? 3?

Have you already sourced your LED modules? If so, have you checked that they are ok (cheap eBay ones are frequently rejects).

MadCatzx

Feb 11, 2018
1. Yes. Its 350mA.