Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Audio - mono to dual mono

whiterabbit

Sep 14, 2013
Hey all!

I have a phantom-powered condenser mic that I'd like to make an adapter for to convert the mono signal into dual mono. What is the best way to build this?

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi Erik. We meet again :)

You have a single phantom-powered condenser mic with a 3-pin Cannon XLR connector? And you want to adapt it so it can plug into two inputs on a mixing desk or similar, and produce the same signal into each input?

I haven't tried this, so YMMV ("your mileage may vary"), and I'm not an expert on this subject.

Start here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XLR_connector#Three_pin_-_audio

I think you can connect all three wires from the mic to corresponding pins on both connectors.

This will cause a small earth loop, so you might want to insert a 10 ohm resistor in series with the wires to pin 1 on one of the plugs that plugs into the mixer to avoid that.

Both mixer inputs will provide phantom power to the mic, but this shouldn't be an issue, since they both get their supply from the same voltage. The resistance between each signal conductor and the phantom power supply will be halved, because there will be two resistors in parallel. These resistors are typically 6.8 kilohms, so the parallel connection will reduce them to 3.4k. This may slightly increase the phantom power voltage at the mic, but it won't damage it because it's limited to 48V by the power supply itself. It just means that less voltage will be dropped across those resistors, leaving more of the 48V available for the mic.