Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Broken resistor and fuse in lab shaker's control panel

PhilipAG

Nov 30, 2023
Hi everyone,

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to PCBs but I'm trying my best of luck.
In the lab, one of our shakers (photo 1) no longer functions and I could vaguely smell something burning inside the control panel (photo 2).

I opened up the control panel and at the front of the PCB (photo 3) I detected two burned spots, which are a resistor and fuse.
- The SMD resistor (photo 4) had the value 1000 written on it before, so I assume it is a 100 ohm resistor? I'm in doubt whether the size is 0603 or 0805.
- The SMD fuse (photo 5) had "Pc" written on it. For the size I think it is 1206.

Photo 6 & 7 show the intact resistor and fuse from the other shakers we have in the lab.

Based on the photos and info I supplied, does anyone know if I can replace the resistor with for instance 101 or 01A resistors?
How can I determine the fuse rating or does "Pc" stand for a certain value?

Once I know what to get I will try to remove to old parts and solder new parts to the PCB. Anything I should be cautious about?

I hope you can help me out.

Attachments

• Media (1).jpg
    Media (1).jpg
    192.8 KB · Views: 11
  • Media (2) (1).jpg
    Media (2) (1).jpg
    186.1 KB · Views: 10
  • Media (3).jpg
    Media (3).jpg
    383.7 KB · Views: 11
  • Media (4).jpg
    Media (4).jpg
    372.4 KB · Views: 11
  • Media (5).jpg
    Media (5).jpg
    264.2 KB · Views: 10
  • Media (6).jpg
    Media (6).jpg
    415.9 KB · Views: 10
  • Media (7).jpg
    Media (7).jpg
    269.4 KB · Views: 10

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
Is this a medical laboratory?
Those look like culture bags! They're usually flasks... anyway this is highly regulated; if you're in USA by the (NIH).
National institute of health.
You must contact the original manufacturer for repairs documentation is critical.

PhilipAG

Nov 30, 2023
These are erlenmeyers which are still in a bag.