Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Circuit not working like intended...help please!

BanksBunny

Feb 7, 2024
Hi Guys,

I am very new to electronics and had to come with up a little project to help a friend. It's basically an IR reflective sensor that triggers a Piezo to buzz when the IR sensor detects an object. I decided to use a simple 555 Timer to control the Piezo.

I've attached the design schematic I came up. It's probably got a load of errors but with my basic electronics knowledge I thought it should function as intended, not sure what I stuffed up. As it stands, when you connect 12V to the board it simply buzzes non-stop regardless of the IR detector detecting anything.

Any help/tips/ridicule is welcome :)

Attachments

• SCH_555 Based POS Buzzer_1-Sheet_1_2024-02-07.png
    SCH_555 Based POS Buzzer_1-Sheet_1_2024-02-07.png
    61.6 KB · Views: 19

BanksBunny

Feb 7, 2024
I noticed Pins 6 and 7 of the 555 Timer should be connected based on schematics on the web. Tried connecting them together with some solder but same result, buzzer just continually buzzing.

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
I noticed Pins 6 and 7 of the 555 Timer should be connected
... and not connected directly to Vcc (link).

Check the voltage on the Trigger input (555, pin 2). It should be high without object "in sight" and go low when the IR light from the LED is reflected onto the Phototransistor.

The LED is powered by ~ 50 mA. At this current, the CTR of the sensor is ~ 10 %, resulting in 5 mA when an object is detected. However, without an object "in sight", the relative collector current is still ~ 0.2 × Imax:
1707293699470.png

This means the dark current of the phototransistor is 5 mA × 0.2 = 1 mA. 1 mA through R3 results in a voltage drop across R3 of V(R3) = R3 × I = 10 V. This will turn on U2 via R1. Thus there will be no trigger.

What you can do:
- reduce the LED current to 10 mA ... 20 mA
- decrease R3 for a lower voltage drop. Use a potentiometer to adjust the sensitivity.

Additional note: