Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Complete beginner help with finishing linear DC supply

Kyleag89

Oct 9, 2023
Hello everyone I've been learning more about circuitry and how to make diy projects using components I have laying around. I'm trying to utilize a center tapped transformer I salvaged out of a 1980s Kenwood hifi AV receiver. It's a 120v input with a 40 0 40 and 18v output(5 wires total). I removed the capacitors and diodes from the board and reassembled them into a bridge rectifier and now have 52vdc from that. What I would now like to do is turn this into an adjustable power supply to use to power various audio amplifiers, pre-amps, and tone controls for bench testing. What is the best way to go about achieving this? I have no idea what amount of current this is capable of either. I've tried looking up the transformer using the numbers on it but it seems impossible to find data on any of the transformers I've tried looking up from the random numbers on it.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
I removed the capacitors and diodes from the board and reassembled them into a bridge rectifier and now have 52vdc from that.
Can you show us how you did this?

The centre tapped transformer could deliver a dual-rail PSU solution which is often required for hi-fi pre-amp and output stage voltages. The difficulty is that you have a rather high DC level which makes the final design more complicated than it needs to be.

There are plenty of 3-pin regulators (variable) that can accept a 36V input (some can go slightly higher) and kits that adopt these devices are the simplest way to get to where you want to be. Buck-boost modules and even fully-made variable supplies are often cheaper than making your own.

Kyleag89

Oct 9, 2023
16968720806416634135328622303224.jpg

This transformer is massive. It's 4"x4"x3" tall and about 5 pounds.

Kyleag89

Oct 9, 2023