Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Electronics makers - Anyone visited South Korea? Looking for recommendations!

mineymoe

Nov 14, 2023
Hey all,

I'm planning a trip to South Korea later this year and wanted to get some insider tips from any makers who have visited before. As an electronics hobbyist, I'm especially interested in checking out the tech scene in Seoul.

Does anyone have any recommendations for maker spaces, hobbyist stores, tech museums or factories I should put on my list? I've heard the National Science Museum looks pretty cool.

I'd also love to experience some of the local culture beyond just tech. What were some of your favorite non-tech things you did on your trip? Any must-try foods or places I shouldn't miss?

Thanks in advance for any tips! Always looking to explore new places and cultures as a maker. Let me know if any other Korea travelers want to meet up for a drink to swap stories!

thom3s

Feb 20, 2024
I went to a 3D printing shop near Hongdae Station. The shop is right next to a Tamiya Store. However, it's been several years since then, so I can't be sure if it's still open. Someone also mentioned a makerspace in Yongsan, but I haven't been there myself.

If the Yongsan makerspace is no longer around, you might be able to find other interesting electronic items in the area, even though it's not very foreigner-friendly. Prices tend to be expensive, but going with a local could help you get better deals, perhaps consider visiting with a local guide?

I tried to visit the National Science Museum, but it was unfortunately closed when I went, and I didn't have a chance to go back. I apologize for not having more details about electronics; hopefully, I can make it up by providing non-tech stuff.