Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Heating coils with a 9v, why doesn't this work?

KB971033

Dec 11, 2017
Before I say anything I want to say I'm extremely new to electronics.
So I've ordered a spool of nichrome but in the meantime I've seen a lot of videos using small coils made from twist ties being used to make small lighters. Some videos have special batteries but a lot of them just use AA's or consumer 9v's to power the devices. I've made a small coil from a twist tie and I'm using a 9v battery and even when I touch the leads of the coil directly to the terminals on the battery I still get almost no heat whatsoever. If I attach the coil to my power supply(19amps 13.8volts, I realized this was an extremely poor choice as soon as the unit shut it's self off...) it glows bright red and starts to lose its shape like I expected. This leads me to believe that I'm just lacking amperage when I use the 9v and I'm wondering if the only thing I can do to rectify this is use nichrome or if I'm missing something? The videos all have little to no explanation they just have music and it's wildly frustrating.

Notes:
I can't check the resistance of the coil, my multimeter is broken.
I also tried it with a set of 8 AA's wired in series with the same negligible amount of heat

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Try doing some basic electrical/electronics 101 as you have no understanding.
I'm sure there are millions of sites on Google.
What you are attempting is just a dead short.

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
Actually, you should be able to get some heat from a 9V battery for a short period of time. A fresh one should be able to supply about 1A, but only for minutes. What size of nichrome wire did you buy? You would want a fairly fine one.

Bob

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
I think your shorted battery will produce more heat than your nichrome wire or twist tie. But only a brand new alkaline battery and only for a minute or two.