Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help! Arduino based car not working when touching ground.

Hardik Goel

Nov 14, 2015
Hi Guys!

First of all I'm a noob in electronics but I have some knowledge of arduino and a good experience in programming, so please try to help me. So, as the title describes I'm working on an autonomous car which uses arduino. My car has a motor driver similar to that of adafruit motor shield. So the problem which I have is that my motor which is used for accelerating the car or drive it is acting weirdly when I place the car in the air motor works fine but when I place it on ground the car stops and the motor produces a beep..... sound which is very annoying and I have to turn it of. So, what's going on? I've tried to search for this problem but didn't got any results. So, anyone can please help me figure this problem out. I've been going through this problem from last 3 days.

Thanks, in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
hi, welcome

what do you mean ?
when I place the car in the air motor works fine but when I place it on ground the car stops and the motor produces a beep

motors don't beep ... is the beep coming from some other part of the circuit ?

putting that aside for a moment, it sound like the power supply cannot supply enough current to the motor
when it is under load .... so describe your power supply
lets see some circuits diagrams photos etc

Dave

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
either that or under load the motors put more noise on your power supply and disrupt the microcontroller. Do you have separate batteries for the motors and the arduino?

even with that you have to consider ground bounce. It is generally best for the digital ground to be connected to the motor ground in a single place. That place would typically be on the going connection of you motor driver board.

Hardik Goel

Nov 14, 2015
Thanks For the reply!