Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help: Driving a 5 inches 7 segment display

abo0badr

Mar 23, 2013
Good morning guys,
I had finished a small project for car racing, in that Project I have a timer displaying the running time for each lap, I am currently using the small 7-segment displays which is powered up by 5 volts only. This was for testing purposed only (or lets say a miniature only).

Now I have to convert everything into semi-industrial type of equipment. So I have decided to use a 5 inches or 6 inches common anode 7-segment display to display the time.
My only problem is how am I going to do it as I am a newbie to bigger 7-segment displays.

I am already using a 74LS47 (BCD-To-7Segment Decoder) and a simple 2n2222A to drive each multiplexed display using 5volts.

I already new that the bigger 7 segment displays requires around 12 to 15 volts (based on 4 to 6 inches displays).

My question is what should be the replacement parts for the BCD-To-7Segment Decoder and the 2n2222A Transistor?
Any help will be much appreciated. Thank you​

GreenGiant

Feb 9, 2012
you dont need to replace anything, if you get some relays that are driven by 5V and switch more than that and youll be golden.

Just make sure you connect the right output to the right input on the new 7-segment and youre good.

This will delay the display but only by a millisecond or two at most so I wouldnt worry too much :p

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
We need a lot more information.
How are the displays multiplexed? Are you sure they're multiplexed?
Post a schematic of what you have so far.
Why are you using LSTTL? What year is it in your world? ;-)

In general, if you're using common anode displays and multiplexing them, you just need a higher voltage supply rail and some level shifting. But the devil is in the details. There are many possible configurations that you could be using. We need a lot more information.

abo0badr

Mar 23, 2013