Maker Pro
Maker Pro

HELP! Issues with Lighter Heating Coil

Falcore42

Apr 24, 2023
Hi, I'm new to electronics and have been playing around with my breadboard for a few months. I've started to transition over to PCB but I keep running into an issue I can't seem to solve.

I have a 9 volt battery powering the circuit. I've connected an on/off switch and a push button as well. The issue i'm having is with the lighter coil i've added to the circuit. On the breadboard the amount of current running through the circuit seems to be fine and it can be sustained.

When I solder the connections to a PCB the coil seems to overheat and breaks. I tried adding resistors to the board and have played around with various resistors but it seems that any amount won't turn the coil on. I even tried to add a 1 ohm ceramic resistor to test and the resistor became increasingly hot. The size of the ceramic ohm resistor won't work for this project anyways as I need something more compact.

Can anyone help me solve this issue. I'm sure it's not complicated to those with a proper background. See image below of coil on breadboard if this helps at all.

20230621_222008.jpg

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Interesting project.
What’s the specifications of the lighter coil?.
I would have thought that these are very low current and high voltage, powered by a piezo igniter?.
Out of curiosity, try adding a series connected torch bulb to limit the current.
Also a schematic of the circuit would be helpful rather than a picture of the breadboard. I suspect the coil is drawing max current from the 9V battery.

Martin

Falcore42

Apr 24, 2023
Hi, I tried asking for the specifications for the lighter coil but haven't been able to get an answer from the sellers. What do you mean by torch bulb?

Falcore

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
Breadboards and "smoke alarm" batteries were never made for high current circuits.
Those thin as hookup wire either BTW....or tactile switches.........:oops:

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020