Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Help with Laser Alarm Circuit

PlagueHuntR

Aug 11, 2011
Hey all I'm new to both the forums and electronics. Recently I chanced upon a Laser Alarm System and decided to give it a go.
Here's the link: http://www.ehow.com/how_4605253_laser-alarm.html
Ok so I followed the instructions and have just made the circuit board just as is presented in the diagram.
However I have encountered 2 problems.
1: Firstly whether I have the photocell in the light or dark the alarm continues going off.
2: Secondly the 9v battery gets extremely hot when it is hooked up and over heats.
So I would just like to ask if any1 has any ideas, suggestions as to how I can fix these problems and check that the circuit board should work and that the schematics arn't dodgy.
Thanks Plague :D

TBennettcc

Dec 4, 2010
Of course the alarm will continue to go off. With the schematic you linked to, the potentiometer and photocell have no impact on the circuit, because the wiper and one end of the pot are shorted together (right below the depiction of the 9V battery).

They probably intended for the schematic to look like the one I have attached; unfortunately, I am not experienced enough to be able to tell you whether it should work correctly or not. I also lack the requisite parts in front of me to able to play around with the circuit to try different things.

I believe the idea for the circuit is as follows: The photocell has a high resistance when it is in darkness, and a low resistance when it has light shining on it. When the photocell is being lit, the current goes through the two resistors, and back to the battery. However, when the photocell is dark, the resistance is high, and the current goes through the transistor, pulling current through the siren.