Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How to properly power electronics with a battery

janhrubec

Nov 28, 2023
Hey everyone,
I'm very new to this whole topic, but I would like to make my first larger project. I would like to make a small tank. Not really sure about any of the details just yet, but I will use an Arduino Nano ESP32 to control the thing. I chose to use two 6V motors with a stall current of 1.1A. To control them I picked the Adafruit DRV8833 (not very sure about that). I will put everything on a non-soldering breadboard. Now, I never really used a battery to power anything and used just a tiny powerbank. How large of a battery will I need? Should I power it all with a single battery or should have two separate, one for the arduino and one for the motors? Also, all the batteries I looked at have some weird connectors. Should I just strip the wire so I can use it on the breadboard?

Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Bluejets

Oct 5, 2014
I will put everything on a non-soldering breadboard.
Not a good idea for motor connections or anything else on a "permanent" basis.
Breadboards are for testing and definetely not for the higher current of motors and drivers.

LiPo batteries seem to have overrun the older NiMh and NiCd rechargables.
Only thing one has to deal with there, is the concerters required to lower the voltage for some uC's.
If you went 2S (7.4v) you could feed that directly to some Arduino raw inputs and run the motors via pwm with limits on top end speed.
Just be aware LiPo's require close monitoring for charge type and voltage levels and for discharge level as well.
Fortunately this is easily done with add on BMS (battery management system) modules for a few dollars each.

Motors (brushed DC) also require freewheeling diodes for noise suppression.

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
Sum the power used by all items then decide how long you want to run it all for without having to recharge.