Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Making an alarm to remind drivers to unplug anderson plug

tc2233

Apr 11, 2012
Hi all.

At work I have several concrete trucks and a forklift which has an anderson plug to recharge the battery. The current problem is that some of the drivers forget to unplug the anderson plug and rip the battery charger out of the wall so far costing me $1200 in damage :mad: (even the sign on the steering wheel doesnt remind them!!!)

I had a look around to see if there was an alarm system i could wire into these vehicles which sounds an alarm when the engine is turned on and when the anderson plug remains plugged in, but i was unable to find anything on the market.

Im not an expert when it comes to electronics but could someone help me out with some possible design ideas/solutions.

This might seem seem common sense to you guys but the battery is 12 volts.

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
Simple solution make the people liable for the damage they cause, I'll bet after the next guy gets his paycheck docked for damage everyone will be much more aware...

Without hands on or more knowledge of the charging systems a fancy alarm solution is hard or impossible to design...

May I suggest a magnetic break away on the charging cord, and if you want to get fancy wire a third wire across the break away point hooked up to a LOUD siren... The next dolt that drives off plugged in simply breaks the magnetic break-away that causes no damage...

A magnetic break away like this

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/244306503/UL_Power_Cord_Plug_magnetic_socket.html

You can re-purpose this kind of magnetic break away plug from most cheap deep fryers that are made for home use...

timothy48342

Nov 28, 2011
I think CocaCola has a great Idea.

It makes me think of the Breakaway Hose Disconnects at gas stations. You can't trust every driver to remember to take the nozzle out of their gas take and hang it back up. It is going to happen that someone forgets and drives off.