Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Momentary switch to power ON a circuit

Forcerouge

Jun 28, 2024
Hello Everyone,

I'm a noob trying to learn electronics
I'd like to make something extremely basic: a simple momentary switch in order to switch ON and OFF a small fan and a status LED.
The thing needs to be powered by a lithium battery, so with voltages ranging from 4.2V to 3V or so.

I have a small charging system (TP4056) and a small BMS system (DW01A with a 8205A dual mosfet) on this board. These work fine, the battery charges and status LEDs work ok (red when charging, green once charged).

When I press the momentary switch, I want the current coming from the battery to power a small 5V fan and a blue LED to indicate that the thing is working.
In order to do that, I searched the internet and found this circuit: switch circuit in Falstad simulator:
1719590031984.png

It worked great on the simulator, so I assumed it was fine and I designed a small PCB board:

1719589392201.png

Problem is it doesn't seem to work at all after I made the board, when I press the button nothing happens.
I tried switching C4 to 10uF since it seemed to work better in the simulator, but it didn't make any difference.

Do you guys have any idea what could be going on here?
Thanks a lot in advance for your answers

Last edited:

danadak

Feb 19, 2021
Just for future reference you can do this in mBlock on a small micro,
ATTINY85, with more accurate timing and flexibility of functionality,
and debouce the switch as well : (I think this would work)
1719605935663.png

mBlock takes your block program and generates Arduino code and can either program directly a low cost board
like the Nano or use the Nano to program the 8 pin dip type of part. Lots of fun.

1719605965563.png

Regards, Dana.

Attachments

• Fan and LED Time Delay.zip
    55.5 KB · Views: 0

Delta Prime

Jul 29, 2020
trying to learn electronics