Maker Pro
Maker Pro

OpAmp demystification

@xi@g@me

Dec 15, 2016
Hello all! I'm new to op amps, and trying to fix a PCB for a friend. It's an audio problem, there is no apparent sound on both channels. I'm following the schematics to find the probable point of failure, but I'm not able to understand correctly this part of the circuit (and mainly, what I need to expect on both sides)
Here is the part of the schematic that I'm stuck on (full schematic here):

1688490705853.png
(Note there is a series capacitor with a parallel resistor on each channel before mixing, leading to think this is a passive high pass filter)
Top opAmp is for the right channel, bottom for the left.
I can't even tell if the output is to be inverted or not, but what I see that each channel has what looks like a voltage divider circuit (R99, 101 and 102 on right channel, R103, 104 and 105 on right channel, each 22k). I also see that there is a parallel capacitor that may be used as an active low pass filter.
For the feedback circuit, I'm not used to see the output connected to both the inverting and non inverting input (though there is a series capacitor on the positive feedback loop - is it the stabilize the output?).

Anyway, if you could help me understand this part of the circuit better, I'd be grateful :)

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

Have a look at page 29 of the attached PDF.
It will show you the following circuit wit explanation:
VCVS_lowpass_filter.png
Your circuit has an extra RC on the input.

Bertus

Attachments

• sboa093a_Handbook Of Operational Amplifier Active RC Networks.pdf
    3.5 MB · Views: 4

@xi@g@me

Dec 15, 2016
OK, so this is indeed an active low pass filter, with no gain (and no inversion). Thanks for the help :) This handbook may become handy, even though I'm not familiar with the s domain yet.
The other RC circuit is a passive low pass filter for a different frequency?

bertus

Nov 8, 2019
Hello,

Here is an other PDF on opamp circuits.

Bertus

Attachments