Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Potentiometer as a Variable Resistor

MrClamperSir

Feb 3, 2016
Hello everyone!! I'm new to electronics and am very passionate about making useful circuits.

Currently I am using a 12VDC battery to power my tools. I need a variable supply so I have been using a 25Ω 1A rheostat to deliver this need. My machines run on 3V-8V depending on the need.

So far this has been working ok. However I find myself at the top of the rheostat (knob turned most of the way up) while working and I am looking to replace that with something that will provide me more power at a lower setting.

Any suggestions on what Ω and amp values I'd be looking at to accomplish this?

Also an brief overview on why I need to increase/decrease the ohms/amps

Thank you

Last edited:

MrClamperSir

Feb 3, 2016
Hello!! I recently tried to replace my 25Ω 1A rheostat with a 5K potentiometer. I wired it using two terminal pins instead of three (as was suggested by a book on wiring circuits).

At first I was happy to discover my multimeter read out was varying from 0VDC-12VDC just like I was hoping. However when I went to power my tools with the same setup, NOTHING!! No power at all.

I checked back on my multimeter and it was still wired the same with the same readout but I was unable to draw any load.

Anybody know why this happened and how I can rectify it? I'm assuming that the 5K is the wrong values to allow enough current through but that's just a guess on my part

Thank you

Harald Kapp

Nov 17, 2011
Do you know Ohms law? One form of it is I=V/R. With R=5kΩ and V=12V, the resulting current is much too low to drive a tool. There's a reson the old rheostat had 25Ω only.

You multimeter shows the change in voltage as expected because the current drawn by the multimeter is negligible in this setup (or equivalently the multimeter's resistance is high 1MΩ vs. 5kΩ of the potentiometer).

Why do you want to exchange the 25Ω rheostat at all? What is the purpose?