Maker Pro
Maker Pro

rs232 tx to XLR audio

pieman

Mar 26, 2014
I am a bit of a noob to electronics with some soldering experience but incrreasing I feel I need to learn a bit more about electronics

I have a project where it seems sensible to record rs232 data along with video data so I thought why not use the not very compressed pcm audio tracks(24bit 48Khz). The inputs to these are analogue.

I would like to take the tx from an rs232 data stream +-25volts normally maybe +-15voilts and transformer it down to +-1.736V so I can record it as anolugue->digital audio.
I should be able to get my data in the sample rates, assuming I don't go above Nyqvist law so max 24000 bits per second?

1) Can anyone suggest a circuit/components that could reduce the rs232 tx voltage to broadcast line level audio +-1.736V?

2) I asume a simple amp at the other end could transform these logic levels back up to around +-15volts rs232 levels. Can anyone suggest an amplifier?

Many Thanks

OLIVE2222

Oct 2, 2011
log RS232 data on a audio track is not very efficient. It's closser from a digital strorage oscilloscope than a digital logger. You are going to use 24 bits where only one is needed. Program like terra term can log RS232 data in a text file. However it's possible and I guess you may have some synchronization needs to want it. You can use an IC like the MAX3232 who can handle the data both way. When supplied with 3 volts you will have 3 volts level to feed one of the XLR input. If it's still too high you can use a resistor based voltage divider. With the 48KHz sampling rate you can theoretically go up to 19200baud (assuming 1 start bit, 8 data bits and one stop bit)

Olivier

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
I don't think that will be very workable. RS-232 serial data can't reliably be fed through an AC-coupled signal path. Even if the data is continuous (no long periods of idle line), the DC average of the data will change constantly.