Maker Pro
Maker Pro

vinyl cutter power supply

crow11

Apr 5, 2011
hi all another newbie here and just wondering if someone could help me out please
bought a second hand us-cutter mh 1351 vinyl cutter/plotter was working ok when i went to look at it and was working for first 5 minutes when i got home then all of a sudden everything went off no lights no screen,so took the bottom off and came across the power supply i have tested the feed into the supply everything ok checked the onboard fuse its ok, now when i come to test the dc output side there is nothing to any of the contacts its is if the dc side is totally dead in the pic you can see a green led just behind the 18v contact which does not light up either the powerboard to me doesnt look that complex(but im a newbie so it could be lol) and could some please explain why there is a -8v and where to start checking first these are the best pics i could take as its night time here cheers

Attachments

• DSCF11466.jpg
    DSCF11466.jpg
    17.3 KB · Views: 231
  • DSCF11477.jpg
    DSCF11477.jpg
    22 KB · Views: 246
  • DSCF11488.jpg
    DSCF11488.jpg
    17.7 KB · Views: 227
  • DSCF11499.jpg
    DSCF11499.jpg
    23.2 KB · Views: 222
  • DSCF11388.jpg
    DSCF11388.jpg
    26.2 KB · Views: 255
Last edited:

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The photographs are too poor to make out much in the way of detail and I can't read your notes on the last one.

However that's a switchmode power supply, and I presume that you have removed several heatsinks to get this board out.

Be aware that the board almost certainly operates with a significant portion at mains potential, and has a capacitor that can store about 300V for long enough to give you a very alarming surprise hours after the power was last applied. With the power connected the surprise may be the last you ever get.

Try to get higher resolution images which allow us to read what is written on the board.