Maker Pro
Maker Pro

What are the best products to start with?

drymetal

Jul 5, 2013
Hello everyone,

I wish to start learning about electronics....and I don't know where to begin. Perhaps though I should give you some info on myself and maybe what it is I am interested in.

For about 18 years I've been a web designer / programmer. Well, actually I started out using a program called Hypercard for a couple years, then started using Access (got sick of it quickly) - which led to PHP and MySQL.

I'm also a graphic designer that in addition does 3D modeling, video work, and blah, blah, blah.

So instead of telling you why I'm sick of the internet and marketing, and everything else to do with my life - including why I regret letting that girl get away when I was younger...I'll just tell you this:

I am very interested in robotics, physics, space and Star Trek.

Now with that being said, I don't want to build robots that are gimmicky. I want to build things that are practical. Maybe not even robotics - maybe just things that are useful. Whether that ends up being my long-dreamed-about-back-rubber or a talking bidet for those lonely nights in the bathroom.

Now, I gotta start somewhere. But where? Do I buy an Arduino kit? RadioShack's Electronics Learning Lab?

What is a good starting point? What has detailed information on the why? I don't want to spend over $100 if possible. What is the best option?

sirch

Dec 6, 2012
Rather than buying stuff and then deciding what to do with it, I would suggest finding yourself an itch to scratch – i.e. find something that really interests you, a problem you want to solve, etc. and then design and build a solution. Along the way you will find out what tools, test equipment, etc. you need. So if a talking bidet is what floats you boat, go for it!

drymetal

Jul 5, 2013