Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How do you not run outta batteries?

atxjess

May 30, 2015
I'm new to electronics. I recently bought a kit to play with and experiment, It uses 4 C batteries. But they die super quickly. Rechargeable ones are still pretty pricey. How do you deal with this? I saw a power supply one time I thought was for this, But I don't know what it was called :confused:.

Rather not spend my precious component money on burning batteries in the learning process.:)

Gryd3

Jun 25, 2014
I'm new to electronics. I recently bought a kit to play with and experiment, It uses 4 C batteries. But they die super quickly. Rechargeable ones are still pretty pricey. How do you deal with this? I saw a power supply one time I thought was for this, But I don't know what it was called :confused:.

Rather not spend my precious component money on burning batteries in the learning process.:)
C batteries should last a while depending on the project. Heck, many people use 9V cells for a decent period of time. What circuits are you experimenting with?

If it becomes an issue, invest in rechargeable batteries, they are not that much more than regular batteries unless you are buying the bulk dollar store batteries (Which never last long anyway).
You can also use old AC-DC adaptors... you know, the wall warts that powered your childhood gameboy or piano. (Read them carefully to find the output voltage, polarity, and current capability.

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
Hi atxjess, the 4 c batteries are 1.5 volts each. You need to add up all batteries voltages and it will give you the circuits running voltage.
Yours has 4 c batteries. Each battery is 1.5 volts. times that by 4 = 6. So your cicuit requires 6 volts.

You can buy a 6 volt DC adapter from any electrical shop. It will save your money for more components.

Better still, buy an adapter with 3 to12 volts adjustable. Now you have your future purchases covered too.

Good luck.
Martin.

atxjess

May 30, 2015