Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Sign with 175 LEDs

kevbo423

Jan 22, 2013
Hello,

I'm new to circuit building and to this forum and just thought I would ask the experts how to pursue this project. I want to make a sign similar to an "Open" sign. Where the LEDs are arranged in the shape of letters. I was hoping it would be battery powered and would turn on at the flick of a switch. I also want to use four different colored LEDs (blue, green, white, and red). If anyone can offer me some insight on how to start this project and anything I need to consider that would be great.

Thanks.

Attachments

• led-open-sign.jpg
    led-open-sign.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 293

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
As Steve says, for a static display, all the connections and calculations are explained in that very helpful article. If you want an animated display, read on.

For anything more complicated than a very basic sequence of illumination, you're going to need a micro of some kind to do the controlling. That means you're going to have to learn about programming. There are various options.

The Microchip PIC is a range of popular devices with some good language compilers available. The first PICs were simple 8-bit devices but they have since expanded into more capable parts. The PIC device contains the MCU core (the processing engine), RAM (memory for storage of temporary data), Flash ROM (memory for storage of your program, which can be reprogrammed without removing the device from the board) and various internal peripherals which enable it to communicate with external devices - serial ports, acquisition of analogue signals, measurement of time intervals, generation of PWM (pulse width modulated) signals to control LED brightness or motor speed, that kind of thing.