Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Simple transistor circuit problem

rasklangus

May 19, 2013
Hello, I am a novice experimenter with a basic understanding of electronics. I have made a circuit which uses a Darlington transistor to switch an LED on with a capacitor and variable resistor connected so the led will fade over an adjustable period of time. This bit of the circuit works great. I also want the option for the LED to stay on after the trigger is released until a reset button is pressed. I thought I could achieve this by joining the emitter and the base of the transistor so once triggered the base would be fed from the emitter and remain open. This doesn't work. I am obviously missing a vital bit of understanding as I can't see why. Could somebody more knowledgeable than myself (that's probably everybody reading this:) please explain why this doesn't work and possibly suggest what I might do to fix it? I have attached a picture of the circuit...

Thanks very much,

David.

Attachments

• circuit diagram.gif
    circuit diagram.gif
    90.3 KB · Views: 188

CDRIVE

Hauling 10' pipe on a Trek Shift3
May 8, 2012
You won't be able to latch it with a single BJT.

Chris

Last edited:

rasklangus

May 19, 2013
Hi Chris, can you explain why? I would like to know what I'm not understanding.

thanks.

CDRIVE

May 8, 2012
Because the Emitter of a BJT is ~0.7V lower than the Base. Since your BJT is a Darlington, which is two BJT's in a single package, it will be ~1.4V lower than the Base.

Chris

CDRIVE

May 8, 2012
Just a note here. I wrote single FET in my first reply but I edited that, as it should have read BJT. I have no idea why I saw a FET in your schematic. Maybe because I party hearty on Saturdays. :D

Chris

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Right. You can't "latch" the voltage across the capacitor by feeding the voltage from the emitter back to it. The emitter voltage is about 1.3V lower than the base voltage. That's not the only reason.