Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Clicking/Buzzing relays

timtam75

Aug 18, 2019
Hi this PCB is for a stove/oven range hood. These white relays were clicking rapidly/buzzing. (Fan and lights that it controls are still working fine).

It seemed to be coming from two relays and you could actually see a spark flickering in one (probably from the rapid switching). I replaced with new ones but still making the same noise.

I have limited knowledge, but have a multimeter I can use in basic modes.

Can anyone give me an idea of what to check next? Youtube Link below.
Thanks

Last edited:

Martaine2005

May 12, 2015
It’s possible the relay isn’t getting enough current. Check the voltage from the capacitor to the relay. The capacitor may be bad.
Failing that, post some clear close pics of both sides of the board and somebody here will be able to help you.

73's de Edd

Aug 21, 2015
Thir timtam75 . . . . . . . . ( ohhhh my, my I theem to have developed a lispth.)

Now, in just looking at that board, which just seems to be JUST for the power switching relays and their linear power supply support.
Top left corner, we can see the two pin Euro connectors with the AC line voltage input and its BLUE and BROWN power input wires.
It then flows down to catch a BLUE varistor that can crunch up to moderate line spikes, should they come upon the line in times of electrical distress..
Then it passes to the right to a larger C1 DARK GRAY / or / BLACK ? poly " line trash filter " and then into the primary of the BLACK cased 220 in / 14V out AC power transformer.
Unviewable to us . . . on the other / under side of the ciruit board, must be a set of rectifiers to generate DC voltage from that raw 14VAC.
With that given / specified minimal 140 ma current capability, that would not require much filtering, at all.
Therefore, the filtering would seem to be done by the shown C2 plus C4 black filter capacitors shown at the bottom output side of the transformer.