Maker Pro
Maker Pro

How can I make this? Does it exist?

huskysvg26

Mar 30, 2010
Hi,

So I am an electronics newbie looking to build a device to help me ensure people are not taking my some of my valuables.

To give a quick background recently I have found a couple of items missing from my house and I am unsure who might have taken them. I have a few more valuables left that I believe whoever took the ones before might have some interest in taking. Rather than making everyone aware that I know that these items are being stolen I would like to catch the person(s) in the act.

What I want to build is an electronic device that notifies me when one of my valuables has left a certain range, say 20 feet. I would like to be able to attach a small device (transmitter of some sort) to the valuable (easily hidden, hopefully no bigger than a dime) and then have a retriever that counts how many incoming signals it receives. Basically it would be one receiver with a count and a transmitter on each item.

If i was to put the transmitters on 5 items I would want the receiver to let me know that all 5 items are still within a certain distance (I would prefer a digital display with the number of items in range). When one of the items is removed I would like it to show me only 4 items are within that distance. This will allow me to know when the item has left my house and go get the person as they are trying to leave with it.

Being I have no idea what this piece of electronics would be called or even where to begin researching how to make one I am looking for the advice of the forum to get me started.

Any and all advice / suggestions are welcome. I appreciate you taking the time out to point me in the right direction

Thanks,

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
The solution may cost more than your valuables :)